Justin Chen

I was originally born on the East Coast and lived in a small town in New Jersey for about 10 years. I have since been living in California for about 7 years. I have two amazing parents, my mom and my dad who were born and raised in China. Other than my parents, I have two older brothers. My brother, Josh, is at UCSB getting his master’s degree from home. My other brother, Jesse, is getting his M.B.A. from Dartmouth all the way across the country. Also, we have an amazing German Shepherd named Jordan! He is the best, of course.

My artwork has been focused on painting and 2D design. I have always been pretty technical with my artwork, but I don’t have the patience for graphite or charcoal, so painting is a way for me to bridge the gap and achieve realistic but also graphic elements. I really love Acrylic painting, it fits the style of the work I do. I feel that it is versatile when doing rendered paintings but also great with its opacity for illustrative works. Even acrylic paint pens are a great addition to when I paint. Recently, I have been getting back into digital art which I also hope to add more depth to my art.

My future plans… After high school, I plan on going to a 4 year university, but currently I haven’t decided which school to attend. My future is really open to anything, but I plan on pursuing a math or science major. My future education is up in the air, but I’m certain I’ll enjoy wherever I end up. For my art, I hope to continue painting and doing what I enjoy. I plan on continuing digital painting as well because of its convenience anywhere I go. I also have been enjoying doing jewelry making with wire. It has developed into a fun hobby that I will definitely continue.

My advice for my younger OCSA Classmates-
Take advantage of all the art opportunities there are in Visual Arts and always have fun in the classes you choose! Never take a class you will regret, but don’t be afraid to try new mediums and techniques.

11th, 12th Show Invite

Project Gallery

Papercraft_ Acrylic paint, pen and ink, paper collage_ 16_ x 24
Papercraft_ Acrylic paint, pen and ink, paper collage_ 16_ x 24
press to zoom
Paper Puffin_ Colored paper, acrylic paint, marker_ 9.5_ x 14
Paper Puffin_ Colored paper, acrylic paint, marker_ 9.5_ x 14
press to zoom
Fish Space_ Acrylic paint_ 12_ x 16
Fish Space_ Acrylic paint_ 12_ x 16
press to zoom
Nature_s Colors_ Digital_ 6_ x 8
Nature_s Colors_ Digital_ 6_ x 8
press to zoom
Lines Pictorial_ Paint marker, marker_ 7_ x 10
Lines Pictorial_ Paint marker, marker_ 7_ x 10
press to zoom
A Dog at Home_ Acrylic paint, newspaper collage, colored pencil_ 11_ x 14
A Dog at Home_ Acrylic paint, newspaper collage, colored pencil_ 11_ x 14
press to zoom
Fish Market_ Acrylic paint_ 5_ x 7
Fish Market_ Acrylic paint_ 5_ x 7
press to zoom
Bighorn_ Gouache, paint pen, colored paper_ 8.5_ x 11
Bighorn_ Gouache, paint pen, colored paper_ 8.5_ x 11
press to zoom
Couple of Hands_ Charcoal_  16_ x 16
Couple of Hands_ Charcoal_ 16_ x 16
press to zoom
1/1